Skip to main navigation.

Board Nominations

Nomination process for April 21, 2020 Meeting

Being a member of an electric co-op is a unique opportunity to be part of the decision-making process in a business. 
Because Southern Indiana Power is a cooperative, it is owned by its members. That means members are responsible for
voting for other members to take the leadership positions on the board of directors to help make business decisions for
the company. Each year, Southern Indiana Power holds an annual meeting and encourages members to attend and vote
for the director of their choice. But before elections are held, a nomination process must occur.

Any member of the cooperative who is 21 years of age or older, resides in the district served and meets the following criteria
can be a director:

1. Must be willing to promote and safeguard the interest of the cooperative among the members and the general public.
2. Must not in any way be employed by or financially interested in a business selling supplies to the cooperative.
3. Must not be a husband, wife, mother, father, brother, sister, child, or in-law of a current employee or director of the cooperative.
4. No present or former employee of the cooperative shall be eligible to become a  board member.
5. Must be willing to attend regularly scheduled and special meetings of the board of directors and also attend national, state,
    and local organization meetings with associated interests.

6. Must be willing to attain NRECA director certification within nine years after being elected.
The board of directors is the legal body which both the Southern Indiana Power members and the government
hold accountable
for the actions of the cooperative. As a Southern Indiana Power member, the director serves
on a part-time basis, attending board and committee meetings locally, as well as state and national seminars
in order to keep informed, and to improve skills necessary to carry out the responsibilities of a co-op director.

Specifically, the board of directors:
1. Determines policy guidelines for the daily operation of the cooperative.
2. Employs a CEO to direct operations.
3. Determines a work plan and budget.
4. Sets rate and fee schedules for service.
5. Enters into contracts for power supply, services and loans for capital improvements.
6. Evaluates the performance of the cooperative and the CEO.
7. Reports to the member-owners on the financial condition of the cooperative.
8. Any member who meets the qualifications listed and wants to be considered as a candidate should
    contact the cooperative to obtain a petition form.

In accordance with the bylaws of the cooperative, all director nominees for election at the annual meeting must be
nominated by a certified petition signed by 30 or more members of the cooperative who reside in the district from which
the nominee is being selected to run. (For purposes of this petition, a husband and wife constitute only one signature.)

Each petition must contain a certification by a member of the district that he or she personally witnessed each signature
included with the petition.

The petition must be filed at the office of the cooperative not less than 60 nor more than 100 days prior to the annual
meeting. The assistant secretary treasurer of the cooperative shall certify to the board of directors within 15 days
after receipt of a petition whether or not the petition contains the necessary 30 member signatures. No nominations
may be made at the annual meeting or during the 60-day period proceeding the meeting.

Forms for petition may be obtained at the office of the cooperative during regular business hours.
District 5: includes Anderson and Troy townships in Perry County
District 6: includes Leopold, Tobin and Union Townships in Perry County

In the event that no qualifying petitions are received, the board of directors shall declare a vacancy in the
position of director for that district at its first meeting after the annual meeting. During such meeting,
the board of directors shall elect a director to fill that vacancy for the unexpired three-year term. The
director so elected must reside in the district from which he is being elected to represent.

The deadline to submit the material is February 19, 2021.